Alex Chinneck


The Daily Mail Online have a great interview with artist Alex Chinneck about his latest project ‘Take my Lightning but Don’t steal my Thunder’ in Covent Gardens.

The interview gives a great insight into the work that goes into large scale installations. Below is Alex in front of his finished work (left) and the real historic market building on which it is based (right).

Interestingly, just a few weeks ago in Trafalgar Square I saw a whole line of street performers ‘levitating’ using a similar technique. The image below is from Flickr user Jim. I like this Austrians attire, however the row of the same trick in London rather spoiled the effect. Chinneck presumably won’t have to worry about copy cat buildings springing up in Covent Gardens.

7328988960_43c1ac5b61_z

You may also have seen his work in the news last year with a sliding or melting house From the knees of my nose to the belly of my toes’ installation in Hackney.

1412272542496_wps_26_E7JNAP_An_artwork_by_Alex

Via the Daily Mail Online.

You can follow me here on WordPress or on Facebook . Checkout the rest of my posts using the categories on the left or at my homepage.

Leave a Reply

